Wednesday, 16 May 2012

State Day: felicitation to various personalities

Pappu Mallick

Gangtok, 16 May (IPR): State Day was celebrated here at Chintan Bhawan, Gangtok today with the felicitation to various personalities who have contributed to the society in the field of social service, sports, music and arts, literature etc.  Nine personalities from various walks of life were conferred with Sikkim Sewa Ratna and twenty personalities were felicitated with Sikkim Sewa Samman from His Excellency the Governor of Sikkim and Hon’ble Chief Minister of Sikkim. LD Kazi Award for Democratic Movement was conferred to Shri Man Bahadur Tamang of pachey, Dugalakha, East Sikkim for the role in the democratic movement of the state. His Excellency also presented the Jeevan Raksha Padak to Shri Vivek Sharma who had received the award during the year 2011from the President of India for saving a life of a child.  The programme also saw joint release of three books viz. Coffee Table pictorial book and a narrative documentation on Sikkim Bhraman published by Information and Public Relations Department, Government of Sikkim and Ethno Ornithology of  Lepchas of Sikkim written by Vanya Jha and Ajeya Jha, by His Excellency The Governor of Sikkim and Hon’ble Chief Minister of Sikkim.
             His Excellency the Governor of Sikkim while addressing the gathering quoted Dr. B.R. Ambedkar who asserted in the Constituent Assembly that “we must make our political democracy a social democracy as well”,‘social democracy seeks to establish a way of life which recognizes equality, liberty and fraternity as the principles of life’ and further added that the evolution of political democracy in Sikkim has helped in empowerment of Sikkimese people through education, healthcare and creation of infrastructure. It is for us and particularly our younger generation to ensure that we do not create such layers of life in our society where wealth gets concentrated in the hands of a few and the majority are denied economic opportunities, he said. The Governor during his address appreciated the schemes of the government for the upliftment of the people and the society and made a special mention to the Chief Minister’s Meritorious Scholorship Programme, CATCH and 10 minutes to Earth which he said are symbolic to the steps taken by the State Government on education, health and environment. He was also quite appreciative to the gathering of public servants assembled in the Chintan Bhawan in the State Day Celebration and added that this shows that the earthquake has not shattered the zeal and enthusiasm of the Sikkimese people towards the development of the state. His Excellency also congratulated the receipients of the civilian awards and asked them to continue their service towards the people and society and greeted the people of Sikkim on the auspious occasion.
            The Chief Minister during his address talked about the evolution of the democratic movement in the state and remembered the leaders who had their role in the democratic movement of the state. Further added he said that the state of Sikkim is reaping the fruits of democratic divident in the name of development which has been established in the state. The Chief Minister in his address also thanked the central leadership for the support and cooperation towards the state.
           The Chief Secretary in his welcome address said that the State Day celebration is the celebration of democracy and its success in the state.
Earlier, His Excellency the Governor of Sikkim and the Chief Minister of Sikkim offered garland to the statue of LD Kazi in front of the Chintan Bhawan.
Receipents of the Sikkim Sewa Ratna
1.                 Shri B B Gooroong, Former Chief Minister
2.                 Shri Sancha Man Limboo, Former Chief Minister
3.                 Shri C D Rai, Journalist
4.                 Dr. Trilochan Singh, Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi
5.                 Shri T T Dorjee, Former Chief Secretary
6.                 Ms. Kipu Tshering Lepcha, Social Worker
Receipents of Sikkim Khel Ratna
1.                  Shri Bhaichung Bhutia, Football
2.                 Sri Tarundeep Rai, Archery
3.                 Ms. Phul Maya Tamang, Mountaineering
Receipents of Sikkim Sewa Samman
1.                 Shri L B Chettri, Engineer
2.                 Shri Lhendup Lepcha, Engineer
3.                 Shri Tar Tshering Lepcha, Engineer
4.                 Shri A Karthok, Civil Servant
5.                 Smt. Chemjey Doma Bhutia, Social Work
6.                 Smt. Anita Bhujel, Nurse
7.                 Shri Kundanmul Sarda, Businessman
8.                 Smt. Santosh Nirash, Journalist
Reciepents of Sikkim Khel Samman
1.                 Shri Jaslall Pradhan, Boxing
2.                 Shri Trilok Subba, Tae Kyondo
3.                 Shri Chungda Sherpa, Archery
Reciepents of Sikkim Udhyog Samman
1.                 Shri Motilall Lakhotia
2.                 Shri Jagat Pd. Sharma
Reciepents of Sikkim Sahitya Samman
1.                 Shri Jas Raj Subba
2.                 Dr.(Smt) Puspa Sharma
Receipent of Sikkim Sangeet Samman
1.                 Ms. Shanti Thatal
Receipents of Sikkim Kala Samman
1.                 Shri Uttam Pradhan
2.                 Shri B B Rai
Receipents of Sikkim Siksha Samman
1.                Shri Kul Bahadur Rai
Reciepent of Sikkim Krishi Samman
1.                 Shri Kailash Rana Mangar

No comments:

Post a Comment